Crystallising Thoughts.

ChemoleoCuSO4crystals2What is it about Crystals that is so captivating?

I don’t know. That’s why I’m asking…

They are different to different people – powerful, mystical, spiritual to some. Beautifully precise expressions of order to others. Essential tools in the development of technology for a few.

They beguile me. I love them because they utterly ignore the observation that someone shared with me, and that has shaped my world view in such a miriad of ways since I was a sproglet – “There are no straight lines in nature” (I expect it was Mum or Dad that said this to me first. But its a powerful observation that again and again crops up – like in Prometheus. And its quite contentious it seems)

copper-sulfate3

I first grew Crystals in a Thatcher-era perma-temp portacabin at the end of my last year of infant school. The teacher told me to, infact the whole class did it as part of a magical cooperative crystal garden project. The hypnotic blue of the Copper II Sulphate I grew has never quite loosened it’s grip on me. It shares an other-worldly quality with the lightning-blue of Beth’s captivating eyes…eye

*Ahem*

Anyway. Back on track. I’m gonna grow some more. It’ll be quite a journey of re/discovery for me. It’s a long time since I abandoned a possible career in the Chemical Arts for a chance to explore the Science of Caring, which I’ve been doing for the past 15 years. Yoinks.

You can take the boy out of Geeksville, but you can’t take the Geek outta the boy.

I’ll start with Copper Sulphate, and maybe try some more. Click the link if you want to know a little more about it. I just did, and found out there’s other Arty Souls who see the beauty of this Bluestone – check out Seizure to see what happens when a flat is filled with 75,000 litres of CuSO4 solution and left to crystallise 🙂crystalceiling_0

This entry was posted in Crystal/Chrono Artistry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

